Howard Hanna Real Estate Careers

Real Estate Licensing Requirements

Please click on your state of choice to view the licensing requirements for that state.

Michigan

  

Michigan Licensing Requirements:

Contact Career Development to set up an interview with a Howard Hanna Sales Manager

  • Call and register for Pre Licensing Classes
  • Attend 40 Hours of Real Estate Pre-Licensing Classes

All new potential licensees in the state of Michigan must take, before sitting for the licensing exam, a fast-paced pre-license course that includes major subjects such as Michigan Law, Ownership, Valuation, and Brokerage.  Other lessons include real-world discussions about mortgages and deeds of trust, lending laws, and other consumer-based themes.

Step 1 (Obtaining a Real Estate Salesperson License):

  • Be at least 18 years of age or older
  • Complete MREC approved pre-licensing course

Note: Online courses offered for pre-license credit must include a timing mechanism to ensure seat time; this means you will have to stay in this course for a total of 40 clock hours.

  • Pass examination
  • Complete Application including:
    • Completed application form
    • Required fee
    • Broker’s signature
  •  Be of “good moral character”

For FAQ on Michigan Licensing Requirements 

New York

New York Licensing Requirements:

Requirements to obtain a Salesperson License

  • Be of 18 years of age
  • Have successfully completed a Department of State approved 75-hour qualifying course. If you have completed the 45-hour salesperson course prior to July 1, 2008, you may complete the 30 hour remedial course in order to qualify for licensure. The Department of State requires a proctored final exam to be taken at an approved location for all licensing courses.
  • Pass the NYS real estate salesperson examination with a score of 70% BEFORE you can affiliate with a Broker.
  • Be sponsored by a NYS licensed real estate broker

For FAQ on New York Licensing Requirements

North Carolina

The Process for Obtaining a North Carolina Real Estate License:

  1. North Carolina is a “broker license only” state, meaning there is only one basic ‘type’ of license- a broker license
  2. To qualify, the applicant must be 18 years of age
  3. Must have a social security number
  4. Must complete a 75 classroom hour Broker Prelicense Course at a North Carolina school approved by the Commission or possess education and/or real estate experience the commission finds equivalent to such a course.
  5. Applicant files application form and fee with Commission
  6. Commission determines applicant’s eligibility for licensing examination and sends qualified applicants notice of exam eligibility
  7. Applicant contacts testing service to pay fee and schedule exam
  8. After passing exam, Commission will determine whether applicant possesses the requisite ‘character’ for licensure
  9. Commission issues provisional license to qualified applicant with a status of inactive
  10. Applicant at this point affiliates with a Broker to activate license
  11. The Broker Post-licensing courses consist of (3) 30 classroom hours which make up the 90-hour post-licensing requirement- to be completed within 3 years

For FAQ on North Carolina Licensing Requirements

Ohio

  


Ohio Licensing Requirements:

  1. Be honest, truthful and of good reputation.
  2. Be at least 18 years old.
  3. Be sponsored by an Ohio Broker.
  4. Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude. Not have violated any civil rights laws regarding real estate within the past two years as determined by a court of law or violated any rules of the Ohio Division of Real Estate. In some circumstances, it is possible to have a conviction or violation disregarded, which would allow you to sit for the exam. The Division may only make a determination with respect to a conviction or violation if you file an application. For additional information on this process, contact the Division directly or review the additional information found on the Division’s website.
  5. Have a high school diploma or its equivalent as recognized by the Ohio Department of Education if you were born after 1950.
  6. Complete the education requirements
  7. Pass the state required exam with a score of at least 70%

For FAQ on Ohio Licensing Requirements

For information on Pre-Licensing Crammer Classes

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Licensing Requirements:

Contact Career Development to set up an interview with a Howard Hanna Sales Manager

  • Call and register for Pre-Licensing Classes
  • To qualify to take the salesperson examination you must:
    • Be at least 18 years old
    • Have completed one of the education requirements below:
  1. Have completed 4 credits or 60 hours of real estate instruction in Real Estate Fundamentals (30 hours)......and Real Estate Practice (30 hours) within 10 years prior to the date of successful completion of the licensing examination; or
  2. Possess a bachelor’s degree with a major in real estate or its equivalent from an accredited college, university or institute of higher learning; or
  3. Have completed 4 credits or 60 hours of acceptable basic real estate courses at a real estate school, accredited college, university or institute of higher learning located outside the Commonwealth that has been approved by the jurisdiction where the school is located.
  • Possess a letter of certification from another licensing jurisdiction showing you have been actively licensed within the past 5 years. Submit a letter of certification from that jurisdiction, dated within 90 days from the date you are registering.
  • Possess a Juris Doctor degree from an accredited law school or a certificate of Good Standing from the Supreme Court of state where you practice law.

For FAQ on Pennsylvania Licensing Requirements

For information on Pre-Licensing Crammer Classes

Virginia

The Process for Obtaining a Virginia Real Estate License:

  1. Must be 18 years of age with high school diploma (or equivalent)
  2. Must have Social Security or Virginia DMV Control Number
  3. Register and Complete the 60 Hours of Required Education, Principles of Real Estate Course
  4. Take and Pass the Virginia Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Exam- which includes a National and State Portion administered by the PSI
  5. Complete Your Fingerprinting and Background Check
  6. Apply for Your Virginia Real Estate Salesperson Licensing by affiliating with a broker and mailing off the application to the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (you have up to 12 months to affiliate and activate your license)
  7. All active new salesperson licensees must complete a board approved 30 hour post license education (PLE) curriculum within one calendar year

For FAQ on VirginiaLicensing Requirements